Amber

20 Some of the Pharisees asked Jesus, “When will the kingdom of God come?”

Jesus answered, “God’s kingdom is coming, but not in a way that you will be able to see with your eyes. 21 People will not say, ‘Look, here it is!’ or, ‘There it is!’ because God’s kingdom is within you.”

Luke 17 (NCV)


I wrote this song in 2012 and revisited it last year to add some spontaneous worship. I recorded this video about 5 months ago.

(I often sit on things for long periods at a time if that’s not yet abundantly clear).

One of my favorite things about shooting this video was collaborating with nature and getting to see some lovely miracles. Toward the end of the video (around minute 4), I was singing, “dancing in deep amber joy floating in the atmosphere” when a yellow dragonfly floated down and joined me. I had never seen a yellow dragonfly before. It was absolutely beautiful. I smiled at it as it floated down past me.

The whole theme of the song is yellow light and joy, which is why I shot this outside and used a lot of yellow elements (and why I was particularly happy that nature joined in a dance with me). Thanks, yellow dragonfly; you were a happy addition to my day. Thank you, all other dragonflies that graced me with your presence. Thank you majestic birds for making an appearance in the background unbeknownst to me. And thank you beautiful blue skies and sunlight for being my heavenly gifts every day. (Lyrics are below.)

Let’s go to heaven

Let’s go to light

Let’s gaze in Jesus’ face, feel His smile

Let’s dance in deep amber joy floating in the atmosphere

It’s all right here*

oo oo oo oo oo*

Let’s break the floodgates of heaven open wide

Let’s show this earth what Jesus’ face is like

Let’s dance in deep amber freedom floating in the atmosphere

It’s all right here*

oo oo oo oo oo*

Like a light shining in the dark, I see you*

Like a fire shut up in my bones, I feel you*

And you are inescapable

Greet me with a heavenly kiss*

Put Your word upon my lips*

To fill all my spaces, occupy me*

You are inexplicable

Greet me with a heavenly kiss*

Put Your word upon my lips*

To fill all my spaces, occupy me*

(everything else was spontaneous)

Leave a Reply

